Let's Talk: Chakras & Energy

Let’s talk about Chakras

If you’ve been around the Yogi community for a while, you may have heard about Chakras but perhaps have no idea what they are or how they relate to yoga. Chakras are energy centers in the body. Chakra in old Sanskrit literally means wheel. Your prana, or life force, is constantly rotating and moving inside you and chakras are the energy centers that this energy moves in.  They connect to your physical, mental, and emotional health. In yoga, you can balance out or activate your different chakras with certain poses. There are 7 chakras running along the mid-line of the body from the base of the spine through the top of the head. Here’s an overview of the chakras and their emotional and physical connections.


1st Chakra: Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Location: Base of spine near the tailbone

Body Parts: Feet, legs, large intestine

Color: Red

Emotional connection: safety, grounding

Poses to activate: hamstring, quad, and calf stretches


2nd Chakra: Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)

Location: Lower abdominal, below belly button

Body Parts: hips, sacrum, low back, womb, bladder, kidneys

Color: Orange

Emotional Connection: Intimacy, Pleasure, Desire

Activate: Hip and groin openers


3rd Chakra: Solar Plexus (Manipura)

Location: Navel to below the rib cage

Body Parts: navel, solar plexus, digestive system

Color: Yellow

Emotional Connection: Self-power, Confidence

Activate: Twists & Core work


4th Chakra: Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Location: Chest

Body Parts: upper back, upper chest, heart

Color: Green with a pink center

Emotional Connection: compassion, self-love

Activate: Chest openers, backbends, shoulder stretches


5th Chakra: Throat Chakra (Visuddha)

Location: Throat

Body Parts: neck, throat, jaw, mouth

Color: Blue

Emotional Connection: creativity, speak inner truth

Activate: meditation, purification, neck stretches


6th Chakra: Third Eye (Ajna)

Location: forehead, between the eyebrows

Color: Indigo

Emotional Connection: Intuition

Activate: positive visualizations and images


7th Chakra: Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Location: top of the head to above the head

Color: Violet-white

Emotional Connection: Personal consciousness, thought

Activate: Meditation

For more in depth information that digs into overactive and underactive chakras and ways to balance them, check out these articles: